Beijing musos

12 Aug

After dinner, Kenyen, Niklas and me had a walk around the bars of Houhai. With night falling, the atmosphere had suddently changed. Neon lights had taken over, and the sofas, empty during the afternoon, were beginning to fill.

Most of the bars had live music. I stopped a few times, hearing sirupy pop sung by all sorts of formations which – I felt – I could easily recognize.

Number one was the loner emo

Number two was the muso couple with matching hairdos

Number three was the band with just one girl in it

And in the end, my personal favourite, the nerd on a keyboard with an ironic t-shirt.

But as I passed, I thought – hey, what’s all this about how China’s an absolute other. Don’t we have these figures at home?

Leave a Reply

